Marquette University’s Ighodaro Named Men’s Basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Marquette forward Oso Ighodaro was named BIG EAST Men’s Basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year. The Conference’s Academic Affairs Committee made the pick.
Ighodaro will receive a $2,000 grant, which can be used for graduate or professional study.
Ighodaro earned a 3.54 undergraduate grade point average as a Finance major. As a graduate student, his GPA is 3.80. He completed his undergraduate degree in three years in 2023 and began working on his MBA in the summer of that year. He will finish his MBA this summer, completing the program in just one year.
On the court, Ighodaro has been a key contributor to the Golden Eagles’ success, which includes a 23-8 overall record, a 14-6 BIG EAST mark, and a third-place berth in the BIG EAST Tournament. He is a 6-11 forward from Chandler, Arizona, who was chosen to the All-BIG EAST Second Team earlier this week. He averages 14.4 points and 7.2 rebounds per game, shooting 60.8 percent from the field.
The BIG EAST Basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year award is one of several scholarships offered by the BIG EAST Conference for the 2023-24 academic year. In addition, 22 student-athletes (one male and one female from each of the BIG EAST’s 11 member institutions) will receive postgraduate scholarships as recipients of their respective institutions’ Scholar-Athlete Award. The winners of the institutional and basketball categories are then eligible for the BIG EAST Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, which includes a postgraduate scholarship for one male and one female student-athlete.

Men’s Basketball Scholar-Athletes of the Year
1985  Mike Moses                  St. John’s
1986  Ron Rowan                    St. John’s
1987  Harold Jensen                Villanova
1988  Mark Plansky                 Villanova
1989  Ramon Ramos               Seton Hall
1990  Stephen Thompson       Syracuse
1991  Greg Woodard              Villanova
1992  Darren Morningstar       Pittsburgh
1993  Arturas Karnisovas         Seton Hall
1994  Arturas Karnisovas         Seton Hall
1995  Marc Molinsky              Boston College
1996  Adrian Griffin                 Seton Hall
1997  Ya Ya Dia                      Georgetown
1998  Pat Garrity                    Notre Dame
1999  Rob Hodgson                Rutgers
2000  Lavor Postell                 St. John’s
2001  Ruben Boumtje Boumtje Georgetown
2002  Carlton Carter                Virginia Tech
2003  Emeka Okafor                Connecticut
2004  Emeka Okafor                Connecticut
2005  Craig Forth                    Syracuse
2006  Joe Herber                    West Virginia
2007  Aaron Gray                   Pittsburgh
2008  Ted Talkington              West Virginia
2009  Alex Ruoff                     West Virginia
2010  Tim Abromaitis              Notre Dame
2011  Tim Abromaitis              Notre Dame
2012  Tim Abromaitis              Notre Dame
2013  Peyton Siva                   Louisville
2014  Alex Barlow                   Butler
2015  Alex Barlow                   Butler
2016  Kellen Dunham              Butler
2017  Billy Garrett Jr.               DePaul
2018  Jalen Brunson                Villanova
2019  Michael Nzei                 Seton Hall
2020  Kamar Baldwin              Butler
2021  Ike Obiagu                    Seton Hall
2022  Collin Gillespie              Villanova
2023  Jack Nunge                   Xavier
2024  Oso Ighodaro                Marquette

Leave a Reply