Ghana and South Africa Sign Visa Waiver Deal

The governments of Ghana and South Africa have signed an agreement on visa waivers, allowing nationals of both countries to travel visa-free.


Ghana’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration announced this in a post on the social networking site X, stating that the two nations have reached a “agreement on a visa waiver regime for holders of ordinary passports.”


“Travellers may transit through, depart from, and stay in the territory of both countries for a total of up to 90 days without working.”

According to the post, the agreement takes effect from 1 November.


South Africa also reached a similar agreement with Kenya in January.


After Nigeria, South Africa has Africa’s second-largest economy. However, no such visa waiver agreement exists between the two African behemoths. There is no sign that such an agreement is being negotiated between the two countries.

Leave a Reply