Angola Grants Visa-Free Entry to Nationals From Over 90 Countries

Angola has joined the expanding list of African countries that allow visa-free immigration. The new policy, enacted in a resolution last week, will grant visa-free access to nationals of more than 90 countries for 90-day stays.

Presidential Decree Number 189/23, dated September 29, 2023, contains the resolution. President Joao Lourenco also asked the foreign affairs ministry to inform the recipient countries about the visa exemption.However, visitors visiting the country just for tourism are given a 90-day visa-free stay.

It comes as the southern African country opens its borders to travelers from a variety of countries in an effort to promote its tourism industry.

Since December 2017, South Africans have not needed visas to visit Angola  when an abolition agreement was signed between both nations.


Only five African countries (Seychelles, Mozambique, Rwanda, Comoros and Madagascar) offer visa-free access or visas on arrival to citizens of all African countries. Europe has 35 countries on the list while Asia has 11 countries.


The United States, Portugal, Brazil, Cape Verde, Russia and China were listed as the country’s priority foreign countries.

Angola is the second largest oil producer in Africa. Some of its famous tourist attractions include the National Museum of Slavery, tropical Atlantic beaches, the Sub-Saharan Namib desert and several rivers.

Leave a Reply