in , ,

US Blacklists Nigeria Over ‘Religious Freedom Violations’


The United States has blacklisted Nigeria for “engaging (in) systematic, ongoing, egregious religious freedom violations”.

US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo announced the measure via Twitter on Monday, saying the country will continue to act when “religious freedom is attacked.”

Also added to the list of the annual designations are China, Iran, Saudi Arabia and Eritrea.

Pompeo did not state why Nigeria was blacklisted but said “no country or entity should be allowed to persecute people with impunity because of their beliefs”.

“Today the U.S. designates Burma, China, Eritrea, Iran, Nigeria, the DPRK, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Tajikistan, and Turkmenistan as countries of concern under the International Religious Freedom Act of 1998 for engaging systematic, ongoing, egregious religious freedom violations,” he tweeted.

“The U.S. is unwavering in its commitment to religious freedom. No country or entity should be allowed to persecute people with impunity because of their beliefs. These annual designations show that when religious freedom is attacked, we will act.

“The U.S. is sanctioning the senior leadership of China’s National People’s Congress in connection with developing, adopting, and implementing the National Security Law. We will hold Beijing accountable for destroying Hong Kong’s autonomy. #StandWithHongKong #FightForFreedom.”



The international religious freedom report describes the status of religious freedom in every country and covers government policies violating religious belief and practices of groups, religious denominations and individuals.

In its 2019 country report on human rights practices, the US had expressed concerns over the high rate of religious intolerance in various parts of the country following acts often perpetuated by state actors.


The US Department of State stated that such designation could attract economic measures against such country that has “engaged in or tolerated particularly severe violations of religious freedom.”

It said congress is first notified when a country is blacklisted as a result of violations of religious freedom.

“And where non-economic policy options designed to bring about cessation of the particularly severe violations of religious freedom have reasonably been exhausted, an economic measure generally must be imposed,” it said.


Written by PH

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


90-Year-Old Woman First To Receive Pfizer COVID-19 Vaccine In UK

Uganda’s Joshua Cheptegei Misses World Athlete Of The Year Crown