in ,

UK Removes All 11 Countries From Red List

A security official screening a man during an evacuation of EU (European Union) citizens members includes Germany, France, Austria, Italy, Spain, Sweden, Greece, Ireland, among others, as the Federal Government had restricted flights from some of these countries identified as high-risk C9OVID-19 places before finally shutting all international airports in the country, in Lagos, Nigeria April 9, 2020. F


The UK government has announced that all 11 countries will be removed from the UK’s travel red list from 4am on Wednesday, Dec. 15.



Nigeria, South Africa, Botswana, Angola, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Zambia and Zimbabwe are countries placed on the list in late November after the emergence of the Omicron variant.


However, UK Health Secretary Sajid Javid said the Omicron variant had spread so widely that the rules no longer make much effect.


He told parliament today, Dec. 14: “Now that there is community transmission of Omicron in the UK and Omicron has spread so widely across the world, the travel red list is now less effective in slowing the incursion of Omicron from abroad.


“Whilst we will maintain our temporary testing measures for international travel we will be removing all 11 countries from the travel red list effective from 4am tomorrow morning.”


Currently, all UK arrivals from red list countries must pay for and self-isolate in a pre-booked, government-approved hotel for 10 days. They must also take Covid tests within 48 hours of setting off for the UK and PCR tests within two days of their arrival.


Written by PH

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Omali Yeshitela: Pan-Africanist, Socialist, And Activist

Ugandan Opposition Leader, Bobi Wine, Accuses President Museveni Of House Arrest