Uganda Government Creates Seven Cities To Decongest Capital

Uganda government has created seven cities across the East African country in a move to decongest the capital Kampala, a top official said on Wednesday.

David Bahati, minister of State for Finance told Xinhua that the creation is in line with the country’s urbanization policy “to end the congestion, sanitation issues and confusion in Kampala.”


The cities established include Fort Portal, Mbarara, Masaka, Arua, Jinja, Gulu and Mbale.

Bahati noted that funding for the cities had already been secured but will be disbursed in a phased manner.

“The starting point is to fund the physical planning so that the cities start on a solid background,” Bahati said.

The creation is also expected to increase local revenue and government fiscal transfers, as well as increase employment, said the minister.

The creation brings the total number of cities in the country to eight.

Uganda’s President Yoweri Museveni congratulated the people from the new cities while acknowledging the growth of the towns in a step to bring services closer to the people.

“Uganda now has eight cities and more will follow. My guidance is that the political and technical leaders must work in harmony to ensure the cities are run efficiently. I also urge the wanainchi (citizens) to be involved in the running of these cities, especially through oversight,” Museveni tweeted.


Written by PH

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

From a Wandering Boy Scavenging Food in Trash Cans to Hollywood Star: Read the Inspiring Story of Djimon Hounsou

UN Honours Fallen Colleagues And Legacy Of Hope They Leave Behind