Top 10 Largest Counties in Kenya for 2018; According to Land Mass

Kenya’s new constitution has established the country as an independent State with 47 counties that are specified for various administrative functions. Since 2009, Kenya is yet to conduct a new population census and based on the statistics recorded for the 2009 census, we’ve collated the names of the top 10 largest Kenyan counties.

Also noteworthy is that these counties are ranked based on their land areas as per the provisions of the population census conducted in 2009. Right below, you have a list of the Top 10 Largest Kenyan Counties according to land mass.


  • #1. Turkana County

Turkana County takes the highest spot on the exclusive list of Kenya’s largest counties. Besides being Kenya’s largest county, Turkana County is cherished for its land that produces oil. Meanwhile, this is one of the natural endowments of Turkana land which covers almost 71, 597.8 square kilometres in size.

  • #2. Marsabit County

Marsabit County claims the second position on the ladder of largest land areas. This county is very prominent for housing the Lake Turkana in Kenya. In the aspect of land mass, Masabit County accounts for 66, 923 square kilometres out of Kenya’s overall land area.

  • #3. Wajir County

Situated in Kenya’s North East, Wajir County is Kenya’s third largest county. The county is a strip of land that covers 55, 840.6 square kilometres out of Kenya’s entire land mass.

  • #4. Garissa County

Garissa County is currently under the control of Governor Ali Korane and its historical background clarifies that it is the native land of many Somalis. In the aspect of land area, Garissa County accounts for a total of 45, 720.2 square kilometers.

  • #5. Tana River County

Under the governorship of Dhadho Godana, Tana River County is considered Kenya’s fifth largest county in terms of land mass. With respect to this, the county’s land area extends across 35, 375.8 square kilometers.

  • #6. Isiolo County

Currently governed by Mohammed Kuti, Isiolo is fairly large in size and its land mass makes up 25, 336.1 square kilometres of Kenya’s overall land area.

  • #7. Kitu County

This is the 7th largest county in Kenya and it is currently administered under the governorship of Charity Ngilu. Just a little below Isiolo County, Kitu County accounts for 24, 385 square kilometres out of Kenya’s overall land area.

  • #8. Kajiado County

At the end of the election which came up in August 2017, Joseph Ole Lenku –who previously served as Interior Cabinet Secretary –struck David Nkedianye out of the gubernatorial seat of Kajiado County. At the moment, this county is governed by Joseph Ole Lenku and its entire land mass covers 21, 292.7 square kilometers.

  • #9. Samburu County

Following the gubernatorial election that was held in August 2017, Moses Kasaine retained his position as the Governor of Samburu County. In the aspect of land area, Samburu County stretches across 20, 182.5 square kilometres and this marks it as ninth largest county Kenya.

  • #10. Narok County

This county is headed by Samuel Ole Tunai –its gubernatorial leader. As Kenya’s tenth largest county, Narok County is a strip of land that covers 17, 921.5 square kilometres.

That’s all on Top 10 Largest County In Kenya 2018.


Written by How Africa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Meet Divine Ndhlukula – The Richest Woman In Zimbabwe 2018

Viral Video: Never Seen Before Video of Bill Gates Discussing Meetings With Donald Trump