in ,

Royal Roles: Aside United Kingdom, Here are 16 Countries Where Elizabeth II is Also Queen

If you think Queen Elizabeth is only the Queen of England, well here’s a lesson for you.

She is the monarch of other 16 countries, including these eight Caribbean Islands.

Antigua and Barbuda

Located between the Caribbean Sea and the Atlantic Ocean, Antigua and Barbuda gained independence on November 1, 1981, ending 350 years of British rule. It is a member of the Commonwealth, with the Queen represented by a governor general (Currently Sir Rodney Williams). The prime minister (currently Gaston Browne) is the head of government.

The Bahamas

As a member of the Commonwealth realm,  the Bahamas kept the queen as their monarch and operates with the parliamentary constitutional monarchy.  Just like in Antigua and Barbuda, the queen is represent by a governor general, currently Marguerite Pindling since 2014.



Queen Elizabeth II is also the head of state in Barbados and is represented by Dame Sandra Mason, the governor general who was installed early this year.  It has been an independent country since 1966.


In Grenada, the Crown is currently represented by Cécile La Grenade, the governor general who appoints the Prime Minister who is the head of State.


Just like in other Caribbean Commonwealth nations, the Queen is represented by the governor general, currently Patrick Allen.  The Prime Minister (currently Andrew Holness) and the entire cabinet nominates the governor general, who is then appointed by Queen Elizabeth II.  One appointed, the governor general appoints cabinet members on the Prime Minister’s advice. Although the monarch and Governor-General roles are largely ceremonial, they have reserve powers they only use to avert constitutional crises.

Saint Kitts and Nevis

Saint Kitts and Nevis is a sovereign, democratic and federal state headed by Queen Elizabeth II as the head of state and a prime minister (currently Timothy Harris since 2015) as the head of government. The Queen is represented by Governor-general Samuel Weymouth Tapley Seaton (Since 2015).

Saint Lucia

As a member of the Commonwealth Realm, Saint Lucia is headed by Queen Elizabeth II, who is currently represented by Sir Neville Cenac (Since Jan 2018). Allen Chastanet is the prime minister and head of government.

Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

Queen Elizabeth II is known as  Queen of Saint Vincent and the Grenadines and is currently represented by  Sir Frederick Ballantyne, the governor general. He is responsible for conducting ceremonial activities such as opening the National Assembly and appointing government officials. The daily activities of the government are carried out by a Prime Minister, currently, Ralph Everard Gonsalves.


Written by How Africa

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Kobina Sekyi, the Ghanaian Lawyer Who Had Sworn Never to Wear European Clothes

82-Year-Old Man Compensated with $288,000 after 46 Years for Being Wrongfully Convicted for Murder