in ,

Nigeria 2019: Atiku, Buhari and A List of Presidential Candidates Contesting in Next Year’s Election

With 91 registered political parties in Nigeria, there are a lot of candidates contesting to become president.

The 2019 presidential election is only four months away and Nigerians are finally getting to know the candidates that will fight to win their votes to become the nation’s president, or return for another four years.

The October 7 deadline set by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to register candidates has now passed and all the parties interested in contesting have elected their candidates.

While President Muhammadu Buhari was affirmed as the candidate of the All Progressives’ Congress (APC) at the party’s national convention this weekend, former Vice President, Atiku Abubakar, was elected the candidate of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP).

While many believe that next year’s election will be closely fought between the candidates of the two leading parties, there are a lot more candidates who will appear on the ballot on February 16, 2019.

Here is a list of all the presidential candidates that have emerged to contest next year.


1. President Muhammadu Buhari – All Progressives’ Congress (APC)

APC Primaries: Read Buhari's acceptance speech after being elected APC's flag-bearerPresident Muhammadu Buhari (Facebook/Buhari)

2. Atiku Abubakar – People’s Democratic Party

Atiku Abubakar wins PDP presidential primary, to face Buhari in 2019
Atiku Abubakar (The Guardian)

3. Donald Duke – Social Democratic Party (SDP)

Donald Duke

4. Kingsley Moghalu – Young Progressive Party (YPP)

Moghalu tells Nigerians to force Buhari to debate himKingsley Moghalu (To Build A Nation)

5. Obiageli Ezekwesili – Allied Congress Party of Nigeria (ACPN)

Ezekwesili compares Buhari to trespassing masquerade as he announces 2nd term bid
Obiageli Ezekwesili (Brand Campaign )

6. Fela Durotoye – Alliance for New Nigeria (ANN)

Durotoye's PACT is the biggest joke in Nigerian politics
Fela Durotoye (Instagram/@feladurotoye)

7. Omoyele Sowore – African Action Congress (AAC)

I'll fire generals in the Army if elected President - SoworeOmoyele Sowore (Premium Times)

8. Tope Fasua – Abundance Nigeria Renewal Party (ANRP)

Tope Fasua wins ANRP's presidential ticket to contest in 2019
Tope Fasua (Posterity Media)

9. Eunice Atuejide – National Interest Party (NIP)

Atuejide to contest every 4 years until she becomes President
Eunice Atuejide (Pulse)

10. Olusegun Mimiko – Zenith Labour Party (ZLP)

I'll make a great president for Nigeria - MimikoOlusegun Mimiko (Twitter/@Iroko2019)

11. Adesina Fagbenro-Byron – Kowa Party (KP)

Fagbenro-Byron emerges as KOWA Party's presidential candidate
Adesina Fagbenro-Byron (City People Magazine)

12. Chike Ukaegbu – Advanced Allied Party (AAP)

Chike Ukaegbu joins new party, AAP, to run for President
Chike Ukaegbu (Pulse)

13. Hamza Al-Mustapha – People’s Party of Nigeria (PPN)

Al-Mustapha to contest against Buhari in 2019 election
Hamza Al-Mustapha (Punch)

14. Alistair Soyode – Yes Electorates Solidarity (YES)

Alistair Soyode
Alistair Soyode (Daily Times Nigeria)

15. Obadiah Mailafia – African Democratic Congress (ADC)

Obadiah Mailafia
Obadiah Mailafia (BusinessDay)

16. Ahmed Buhari – Sustainable National Party (SNP)

Ahmed Buhari vows to chase President Buhari out of Aso Rock
Ahmed Buhari (BusinessDay)

17. Usman Ibrahim Alhaji – National Rescue Movement (NRM)

Usman Ibrahim Alhaji
Usman Ibrahim Alhaji (UIA Campaign Organisation)

18. Eniola Ojajuni – Alliance for Democracy (AD)

Eniola Ojajuni
Eniola Ojajuni (Twitter/@eniola_ojajuni)

19. Gbenga Olawepo-Hashim – Alliance for People’s Trust

20. John Ogbor – All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA)

21. Edozie Madu – Independent Democrats (ID)

22. Williams Awosola – Democratic People’s Congress (DPC)

23. Habu Aminchi – Peoples Democratic Movement (PDM)

24. Yabagi Sani – Action Democratic Party (ADP)

25. Moses Shipi – All Blending Party (ABP)

26. Peter Nwangwu – We the People of Nigeria (WTPN)


Written by How Africa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Conor McGregor Suspended from UFC On Medical Grounds After Defeat to Khabib Nurmagomedov

Meghan Markle’s Ex-husband Marries Fiancee In Intimate Ceremony