in ,

Mnangagwa Appoints Coup Plotters To Key Ministries In Recycled Mugabe Cabinet

President Emmerson Mnangagwa on Thursday evening announced a 22-member cabinet comprising two senior Zimbabwe Defence Forces members, who played a critical role in catapulting him to power a week ago.

In a statement, signed by one R. Chikowore and said to have been dispatched by cabinet secretary Misheck Sibanda, the list of “new” ministers excluded all Zanu PF members that were affiliated to former First Lady Grace Mugabe’s Generation 40 faction of the ruling party.

In a move widely seen by political observers as an attempt to reward the military and war veterans for removing former president Robert Mugabe from power, Mnangagwa appointed Major General Sibusiso Moyo as Minister of Foreign Affairs and Air Marshal Perrence Shiri to the critical position of lands, agriculture and rural development.

He also appointed outspoken war veterans leaders Christopher Mutsvangwa (Minister of Information) and Victor Matemadanda (Deputy Minister of War Veterans).

Mnangagwa retained most of the ministers who were in the former president’s cabinet save for those aligned to Generation 40. Several people that were once dumped by Mr. Mugabe, including Angelina Masuku, July Moyo, Monica Mutsvangwa, Ndabazekhaya Ginyilitshe Cain Mathema, Ziyambi Ziyambi and Abednico Ncube bounced back into ministerial and deputy ministerial positions.

Fresh cabinet ministers and deputies include Professor Amon Murwira (Minister of Higher Education, Science and Technology), Professor Clever Nyathi (Minister of Labour and Social Welfare), Winston Chitando (Minister of Mines) and Owen Ncube (Minister of State for Midlands).

The old guards include Patrick Chinamasa (Finance), Obert Mpofu (Home Affairs), Lazarus Dokora (Education), Kembo Mohadi (Defence), Sithembiso Nyoni (Local Government), Oppah Muchinguri-Kashiri (Environment, Water and Climate), Simbarashe Mumbengegwi (State for Presidential Affairs and Monitoring Government Programs), Josiah Hungwe (State for Masvingo) and Super Mandiwanzira (ICT and Cyber Security).

Conspicuous by his absence in the cabinet are former State Security Minister Sydney Sekeramai and former War Veterans Minister Tshinga Dube.

Some observers have criticized the so-called new cabinet saying Mnangagwa has let down Zimbabweans, who expected him to drop most of the ministers who have served in various portfolios since independence from British rule in 1980 in favour of fresh faces.

Here is a full list of Cabinet Ministers, Ministers of State for Provinces and Deputy Ministers:-

Cabinet Ministers

  1. Patrick Chinamasa, as the Minister of Finance and Economic Planning;
  2. Obert Mpofu, as the Minister of Home Affairs and Culture;
  3. Air Marshal Perrance Shiri, as Minister of Lands, Agriculture and Rural Resettlement;
  4. Dr. Lazarus Dokora, as Minister of Primary and Secondary Education;
  5. Dr. David Parirenyatwa, as the Minister of Health and Child Care;
  6. Kembo Mohadi, as the Minister of Defence, Security and War Veterans;
  7. Ziyambi Ziyambi, as Minister of Justice, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs;
  8. Major General Sibusiso Moyo, as Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Trade;
  9. Kazembe Kazembe, as Minister of Sport, Arts and Recreation;
  10. Dr Mike Bimha, as Minister of Industry, Commerce and Enterprise Development;
  11. July Moyo, as Minister of Local Government, Public Works and National Housing;
  12. Sithembiso Nyoni, as Minister of Women and Youth Affairs;
  13. Professor Amon Murwira, as Minister of Higher Education, Science and Technology Development;
  14. Supa Mandiwanzira, as Minister of Information Communication Technology and Cyber Security;
  15. Professor Clever Nyathi, as Minister of Labour and Social Welfare;
  16. Dr Joram Gumbo, as Minister of Transport and Infrastructural Development;
  17. Winston Chitando, as Minister of Mines and Mining Development;
  18. Oppah Muchinguri-Kashiri, as Minister of Environment, Water and Climate;
  19. Priscah Mupfumira, as Minister of Tourism and Hospitality Industry;
  20. Ambassador Simon Khaya Moyo, as Minister of Energy and Power Development;
  21. Chris Mutsvangwa, as Minister of Information, Media and Broadcasting Services; and
  22. Simbarashe Mumbengegwi, as Minister of State for Presidential Affairs and Monitoring Government Programmes.

Ministers of State for the Provinces

  1. Angeline Masuku, as Minister of State for Bulawayo Metropolitan;
  2. Miriam Rutendo Chikukwa, as Minister of State for Harare Metropolitan;
  3. Monica Mutsvangwa, as Minister of State for Manicaland;
  4. Martin Tafara Dinha, as Minister of State for Mashonaland Central;
  5. Webster Shamu, as Minister of State for Mashonaland West;
  6. David Musabayana, as Minister of State for Mashonaland East;
  7. Ndabazekaya Giyilitshe Cain Mathema, as Minister of State for Matabeleland North;
  8. Abednico Ncube, as Minister of State for Matabeleland South;
  9. Josiah Dunira Hungwe, as Minister of State for Masvingo; and
  10. Owen Ncube, as Minister of State for Midlands.
  11. Dr. Christopher Mushohwe, as Minister of State for Government Scholarships in the President’s Office.

Deputy Ministers

  1. Terence Mukupe, as Deputy Minister for Finance and Economic Development;
  2. Davis Marapira, as Deputy Minister of Lands, Agriculture and Rural Resettlement;
  3. Professor Paul Mavima, as Deputy Minister of Primary and Secondary Education;
  4. Victor Matemadanda; as Deputy Minister for War Veterans;
  5. Pupurayi Togarepi, as Deputy Minister for Youth Affairs; and
  6. Joshua Malinga, as Deputy Minister for Social Welfare.

Written by How Africa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


‘No Sympathy For Mugabe’ – Botswana’s President Ian Khama

After The Warning, Saudi Arabia Expels Illegal Immigrants, Starting With Ethiopians

Back to Top