in ,

Meet the 7 African Football Legends CAF Named as Ambassadors for the 2019 AFCON

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has chosen seven legends as ambassadors for the impending Africa Cup of Nations.

Meet the seven African football legends CAF named as ambassadors for the 2019 AFCON
Meet the seven African football legends CAF named as ambassadors for the 2019 AFCON

Mahmoud El Khateeb (Egypt), Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon), Yaya Toure, Didier Drogba (Both Côte d’Ivoire), Rabeh Madjer (Algeria), Nwankwo Kanu (Nigeria) and El Hadji Diouf (Senegal) will be the ambassadors for the continent’s flagship competition that kicks off on 21 June 2019 till it ends on July 19, 2019, in Egypt.

Here are the profiles of these seven ambassadors CAF named

1.   Mahmoud El Khateeb

He is ranked among the best African players of all time.

Mahmoud El Khateeb
Mahmoud El Khateeb

El Khateeb was the first Egyptian to win African Player of the Year in 1983. “Bibo” as he is fondly called among Egyptian supporters won the Africa Cup of Nations with Egypt at home in 1986.

2.   Samuel Eto’o

Eto’o is widely regarded as the greatest players of all time in the history of African.

Samuel Eto’o Samuel Eto’o

A four-time CAF Player of the Year (2003,2004,2005 & 2010), he won the Africa Cup of Nations with Cameroon in 2000 and 2002.

3.   Yaya Toure

The Ivorian enforcer ranks amongst the best in his native, Africa and the rest of the world.

Yaya Toure
Yaya Toure

Toure was crowned CAF Player of the Year for an unprecedented four times in a row (2011, 2012, 2013 &2014), and ultimately guiding Cote d’Ivoire to the Africa Cup of Nations in 2015.

4.   Didier Drogba

Two-time CAF Player of the Year (2006 & 2009).

Didier Drogba Didier Drogba

Drogba is ranked amongst the foremost forwards of his generation. Besides his success at his club, he appeared in five AFCONS (2006, 2008, 2010, 2012 & 2013) reaching the final in 2006 and 2012.

5.   Rabeh Madjer

Madjer was part of the squad that won Algeria’s AFCON title, 1990 on home soil.

Rabeh Madjer
Rabeh Madjer

He is revered by all and is famous for his stint with Portuguese side Porto.

He also won the Ballon d’Or Africain in 1987.

6.   Nwankwo Kanu

‘Papilo’ as he was called featured six AFCON editions from 2000 to 2010.

Nwankwo Kanu Nwankwo Kanu

The highlight of his career was his coronation as CAF Player of the Year in 1996 and 1999.

7.   El Hadji Diouf

He remains the only Senegalese to have been crowned CAF Player of the Year, decorated in 2001 and 2002.

El Hadji Diouf El Hadji Diouf

Diouf was a key member of the Teranga Lions golden generation that made headlines across the world in the early 2000s.


Written by How Africa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


On this Day, June 18, 1942: Bernard W. Robinson Becomes the First African-American Naval Officer

Mbongi: an African Way of Governance that Worked Before the Introduction of Western Democracy

Back to Top