Mauritius Becomes 30th Shareholder of Africa50

Africa50, the pan-African investment platform has announced that the Republic of Mauritius has become its 30th shareholder.

Port Louis in Mauritius

Dharam Dev Manraj Gosh, Mauritian Minister of Finance and Economic Development, signed the Share Subscription Agreement on behalf of the Government, committing Mauritius to take the necessary steps for ratification of the agreement, as required under the Articles of Association of Africa50.

“Mauritius is a leader in infrastructure development and one of the most investor-friendly countries in Africa. I look forward to a very fruitful collaboration. Africa50 now has four SADC member states as shareholders and looks forward to welcoming all other African countries to our platform as we collectively contribute to accelerating infrastructure delivery on the African continent.” said Africa50 CEO, Alain Ebobissé.


Mauritius’ subscription follows that of Rwanda, which joined on July 19 during the General Shareholders Meeting in Nairobi. This marks a new milestone, with half of the continent’s 54  countries having become shareholders of Africa50.

They include: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Sudan, Togo, and Tunisia.

Additional shareholders are the African Development Bank, the Central Bank of West African States (BCEAO), and the Bank Al-Maghrib (BAM). Total committed capital has risen to over $850 million.


Written by PH

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Video: Few Months to Election, Senegal’s President Macky Sall Seduces Voters With a Dance

USA: Donald Trump Unfairly Accuses Google of Favouring Barack Obama