in ,

LIST: African Presidents Who Have Spoken At The 73rd UNGA

Leaders from around the world are in the United States for the 73rd edition of the United Nations General Assembly, UNGA.

Over 50 leaders from the continent are in New York to present their statements on the General Debate. For each day, a mixture of leaders from across the world take turns to address the General Assembly.

The theme of the debate is the same as that of the assembly, it is: “Making the United Nations relevant to all people: global leadership and shared responsibilities for peaceful, equitable and sustainable societies.”

With a focus on African leaders, we highlight the African set for each day of the General Debate. Paul Kagame of Rwanda and President of the African Union, AU, was the first to deliver his address that had a strong tone of what the continent expects from the world.

25th September, 2018

H.E. Mr. Paul Kagame, President of Rwanda

H.E. Mr. Danny Faure, President of Seychelles

H.E. Mr. Muhammadu Buhari, President of Nigeria

H.E. Mr. Matamela Cyril Ramaphosa, President of South Africa

H.E. Mr. Arthur Peter Mutharika, President of Malawi

H.E. Mr. Abdel Fattah al-Sisi, President of Egypt

H.E. Mr. Edgar Chagwa Lungu, President of Zambia

H.E. Mr. Joseph Kabila Kabange, President of DR Congo

H.E. Mr. Adama Barrow, President of The Gambia

H.E. Mr. Filipe Jacinto Nyusi, President of Mozambique

H.E. Mr. Saad-Eddine El Othmani, Prime Minister of Morocco

26th September, 2018

H.E. Mr. Hage Geingob, President of Namibia


H.E. Mr. Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, President of Ghana

H.E. Mr. Ibrahim Boubacar Keita, President of Mali

H.E. Mr. João Manuel Gonçalves Lourenço, President of Angola

H.E. Mr. George Manneh Weah, President of Liberia

H.E. Mr. Jorge Carlos de Almeida Fonseca, President

H.M. Mr. Mswati III, Head of State of eSwatini

H.E. Mr. Uhuru Kenyatta, President of Kenya

H.E. Mr. Emmerson Dambudzo Mnangagwa, President of Zimbabwe

H.E. Mr. Faustin Archange Touadera, Head of State of Central African Republic

27th September, 2018

H.E. Mr. Mokgweetsi Eric Keabetswe Masisi, President of Botswana

H.E. Mr. Teodoro Obiang Nguema Mbasogo, President of Equatorial Guinea

H.E. Mr. Julius Maada Bio, President of Sierra Leone

H.E. Mr. José Mário Vaz, President of Guinea Bissau

H.E. Mr. Azali Assoumani, President of Comoros

H.E. Mr. Rivo Rakotovao, President of Madagascar

H.E. Mr. Daniel Kablan Duncan, Vice-President of Ivory Coast

H.E. Mr. Ruhakana Rugunda, Prime Minister of Uganda

H.E. Mr. Ismael Ould Cheikh Ahmed, Minister for Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation of Mauritania

H.E. Mr. Lejeune Mbella Mbella, Minister for Foreign Affairs of Cameroon

H.E. Mr. Augustine Phillip Mahiga, Minister for Foreign Affairs of Tanzania

H.E. Mr. Mahmoud Ali Youssouf, Minister for Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation of Djibouti

H.E. Mr. Workineh Gebeyehu Negewo, Minister for Foreign Affairs of Ethiopia

H.E. Mr. Robert Dussey, Minister for Foreign Affairs of Togo


Written by How Africa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


South Africa’s Anti-apartheid Icon, Desmond Tutu Hospitalised

Tanzania Gets First Flyover Thanks To Japanese Grant