Kenyan President Wins the 2018 Babacar Ndiaye Trophy

The Babacar Ndiaye Trophy for 2018 was presented on Wednesday evening in Busan, Korea, by the President of the African Development Bank, Akinwumi Adesina, to the representative of the Kenyan Head of State, Uhuru Kenyatta, who was distinguished for “his personal leadership and for the transformation of his country’s road network.”

A short video retracing the life of Babacar Ndiaye (link is external) , 5 th  elected President of the African Development Bank (1985-1995), was shown just before President Adesina presented the distinguished award to Jackson Kinyanjui, Director of the Kenyan Treasury, representing President Uhuru.

According to the jury, the prize was also awarded in recognition of his efforts “to develop the railways and streamline air transport” and the progress achieved in street lighting in Kenya.

In the presence of Djibril Ndiaye, the son of the late Babacar Ndiaye and representative of the family, the ceremony began with a roundtable chaired by Carlos Lopes, former Executive Secretary of the United Nations Commission for Africa (ECA), on the theme “Transport and industrial transformation in Africa.”


Nobel Laureate Joseph Stiglitz Debuts Babacar Ndiaye Lecture

Africa must pursue a “learning-led” development strategy, Professor Joseph Stiglitz said in the inaugural Babacar Ndiaye in Washington, DC on October 15. The lecture series was launched by the African Export-Import Bank (Afreximbank) to honor the former president of the African Development Bank (AfDB). Stiglitz outlined policies he says Africa needs to adopt to achieve inclusive economic growth and provide jobs for a population that is the fastest rising in the world.

Launched in 2016, the Babacar Ndiaye Trophy seeks to honour the best road and transport infrastructure initiatives in Africa. The Super Prize Great Builder –  Babacar Ndiaye Trophy honours a Head of State whose country’s road and transport policy is judged to be exemplary.

The prize was awarded in Busan, Korea, on the sidelines of the 2018 Annual Meetings of the African Development Bank. It was first time the award had been presented since the passing of Babacar Ndiaye in July 2017 in Dakar.

The prestigious honour was awarded jointly on the first occasion to King Mohamed VI of Morocco, the former Ethiopian Prime Minister, Hailemariam Desalegn; the former Gabonese President, Omar Bongo; the Zambian President, Edgar Lungu; and the Ivorian President, Alassane Ouattara.

The Rwandan President, Paul Kagame, and the Senegalese President, Macky Sall, were joint winners of the prize in 2017.


Written by How Africa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Beyoncé’s Fans Are Convinced She’s Pregnant With Baby Number Four

GoPharma: The Mobile App Revolutionising Healthcare Access In Ghana