in ,

For the first Time in English Premier League History, Three African Players Won the Golden Boot Award

Three African players – Mohamed SalahSadio Mane and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang finished on 22 goals each to win the Premier League Golden Boot.

According to reports, this is the first time three players from Africa will be sharing the award and the third time it happened at the Premier League history.

The others were Chris Sutton, Michael Owen and Dion Dublin shared boot in the 1997-98 season and Jimmy-Floyd Hasselbaink, Michael Owen and Dwight Yorke were also tied in the 1998-99 season of the EPL.

While Mohammed Salah re-claimed the Golden Boot award after winning same with 32 times in 2017/18, Mane and Aubameyang won the title for the first time.


These are the top 10 goal scorers at the 2018/19 EPL season:

Mohamed Salah

  • Club: Liverpool
  • Goals: 22

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang

  • Club: Arsenal
  • Goals: 22

Sadio Mane

  • Club: Liverpool
  • Goals: 22

Sergio Aguero

  • Club: Manchester City
  • Goals: 21

Jamie Vardy

  • Club: Leicester
  • Goals: 18

Raheem Sterling

  • Club: Manchester City
  • Goals: 17

Harry Kane

  • Club: Tottenham
  • Goals: 17

Eden Hazard

  • Club: Chelsea
  • Goals: 16

Callum Wilson

  • Club: Bournemouth
  • Goals: 14

Paul Pogba

  • Club: Manchester United
  • Goals: 13

Written by How Africa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


South Africa Elections: ANC Wins by Slight Margin as Cyril Ramaphosa Emerges Victorious

Forensic DNA Evidence Helps to Arrest Rapists in Somalia for the First Time in History