Central Africa: These Are The 9 Central African Countries We Have In The Continent!!

Central Africa is primarily inhabited by Bantu people. Many Nilo-Saharan and Niger-Congo Ubangian communities reside in the region. The Economic Community of Central African States and the Lake Chad Basin Commission are notable Central African supra-regional organizations. Christianity and African Traditional Religion are the predominant religions in the region. There are nine Central African countries.


Angola covers around 1,246,700 square kilometers. Population of Angola is approximately 20,609,294. The nation suffered from civil war from 1975 to 2002. Luanda is the capital of Angola and Kwanza is its currency. The nation has vast mineral and petroleum reserves. Portuguese is the official language of Angola.

Angola Map By


Cameroon covers approximately 475,442 square kilometers and has a population of more than 20.13 million people. Yaounde is the capital of Cameroon, and French and English are its official languages. Central African CFA franc is the currency of Cameroon. The nation is well-known for its geological and cultural diversity.

Cameroon Map by

Central African Republic

Around 4.58 million people live in Central African Republic, which covers approximately 622,984 square kilometers. Bangui is the capital of Central African Republic. Its currency is Central African CFA franc. Central African Republic is a landlocked country.

Central African Republic Map



French and Arabic are the official languages of this landlocked nation, which covers approximately 1.28 million square kilometers. The population of Chad is 11.27 million. N’Djamena is the capital of Chad and Central African franc is its currency. The nation is home to over 200 different ethnic and linguistic groups.

Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC)

Kinshasa is the capital of this Central African country, which has a population of more than 69.575 million. Congolese franc is the currency of DRC. French is the official language of this nation, which covers approximately 2.35 million square kilometers.

Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC)

Republic of the Congo

Republic of the Congo covers 342,000 square kilometers. Brazzaville is its capital and Central African CFA franc its currency. Around 4.37 million people live in the Republic of Congo, whose sparse population is concentrated in its southwestern part. Republic of the Congo’s official language is French.

Equatorial Guinea

Malabo is the capital of Equatorial Guinea. The country covers 28,051 square kilometers. The official languages of Equatorial Guinea are French and Spanish. Equatorial Guinea also use the Central African CFA franc. A small population of around 736,296 people live in this Central African country.

Whilst the country has a relatively low population it has enormous oil reserves and is one of the largest oil producers in Africa. It is the second richest African country ($23,370) by GDP per capita.


Gabon is a sovereign state located on the west coast of Central Africa. Capital of Gabon is Libreville. The nation’s currency is Central African CFA franc. French is the official language of Gabon, which covers 267,668 square kilometers. Around 1.577 million people live in Gabon.

Sao Tome and Principe

This Portuguese-speaking island nation has an area of 964 square kilometers. Sao Tome is its capital and Sao Tome and Principe Dobra is its currency. Around 179,506 people live in Sao Tome and Principe, which is the smallest Portuguese-speaking nation in the world.

Luba, Mongo, Kongo and Kanuri are some major ethnic groups in Central Africa.


Written by How Africa

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


LIST: Top 10 Random Facts About Algeria You Need To Know!!

South Africa Overturns Right-To-Die Ruling For The Terminally ill