CAF Election: Ahmad Ahmad Elected CAF President

CAF has only ever had five presidents in its 60-year history and the last time a new leader was appointed was way back in 1988 when Issa Hayatou was emerged president.

Ahmad defeated Cameroon’s Issa Hayatou to win the presidency with 34 votes to his counterpart’s 20 votes.

Thursday, March 16’s election in Ethiopia’s capital, Addis Ababa, saw Hayatou, who was in charge for nearly three decades defeated.

He has often been re-elected unopposed. On the two occasions when he did face a challenge, he won with landslides amongst the electorate of presidents of Africa’s football associations.

In 2000, he beat Angola’s Armando Machado by 47-4 votes and four years later he defeated Ismail Bhamjee of Botswana by 46-6 votes.


Ahmad campaigned on the platform of administrative reform, financial transparency and a potential re-organisation of CAF competitions.

Ahmad Ahmad

CAF former presidents

Abdel Aziz Abdallah Salem (1957-1958)

Abdel Aziz Moustafa (1958-1968)

Abdel Halim Muhammad (1968-1972)

Yidnekatchew Tessema (1972-1987)

Abdel Halim Muhammad (1987-1988)

Issa Hayatou (1988-2017)


Written by How Africa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

In Washington D.C, 10 Black Kids Have Gone Missing In 10 Days And The Media Aren’t Talking About It!!

Tony Elumelu

‘Africapitalism’ A Solution To Africa’s Joblessness- Tony Elumelu