in ,

Bernard J. Tyson to Receive the National Minority Quality Forum’s Lifetime Achievement Award

The National Minority Quality Forum’s (NMQF) Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes achievement in ensuring that members of this country’s marginalized populations receive optimal health care. NMQF is pleased to announce the 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award recipient Bernard J. Tyson.

Tyson currently serves as Kaiser Permanente’s Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, and has been lauded as one of the world’s most influential leaders in health care by Modern Healthcare. In this role, he leads the nation’s leading health care providers, with operating revenues of nearly $73 billion, while finding innovative ways to disrupt health care for the betterment of people’s health and well-being. He has remained committed to eliminating health disparities and building sustainable healthy communities by delivering affordable, accessible, and high-quality care to millions nationwide.


In announcing the 2019 awardee, Gary Puckrein, PhD, President and CEO of the National Minority Quality Forum, stated, “We are truly excited to honor Bernard J. Tyson. With over three decades of work in the health care industry, he has vigorously worked to better health outcomes for everyone, especially our most marginalized populations. His efforts are an exemplification of NMQF’s mission to improve the quality and safety of health care.”

Upon being announced as the 2019 honoree, Tyson stated, “I am honored to receive the Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Minority Quality Forum. We must continue to think about how we are delivering care to everyone. At Kaiser Permanente, we have a focused strategy on equity, inclusion and diversity, allowing us to provide high-quality, affordable, and culturally responsive care to all members.”

Tyson will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award at the National Minority Quality Forum’s 16th Annual Summit on Health Disparities Gala to be held on the evening of April 9th in Washington, DC.

A few past recipients of the Award include: Speaker Nancy Pelosi, Majority Leader Harry Reid, Congressman John Lewis, and Merck CEO Kenneth Frazier.


Written by PH

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Ethiopia Bans Street Begging By Syrians In Growing Numbers

Meet Elijah Precciely, the 11-Year-Old Student Who is a Physics Major at Southern University, U.S.