in , ,

As Bill Gates Departs Board, Meet the 12 New Board of Directors of Microsoft Corporation

Bill Gates has stepped down from the board of Microsoft to dedicate more time to his foundation, the company said in a statement.

Over the years, Gates has committed more to his foundation, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation. Through the foundation, he has spent most of his fortune through the Giving Pledge, which they launched in 2010.

Microsoft Corp. said Gates will continue to serve as Technology Advisor to CEO Satya Nadella and other leaders in the company.

On June 27, 2008, Gates transitioned out of a day-to-day role in the company to spend more time on his work at the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation. He served as Microsoft’s chairman of the board until February 4, 2014.



LUDOVIC MARIN/AFP via Getty Images

“It’s been a tremendous honour and privilege to have worked with and learned from Bill over the years. Bill founded our company with a belief in the democratizing force of software and a passion to solve society’s most pressing challenges. And Microsoft and the world are better for it. The board has benefited from Bill’s leadership and vision. And Microsoft will continue to benefit from Bill’s ongoing technical passion and advice to drive our products and services forward. I am grateful for Bill’s friendship and look forward to continuing to work alongside him to realize our mission to empower every person and every organization on the planet to achieve more,” said Microsoft CEO Satya Nadella.


“On behalf of our shareholders and the Board, I want to express my deep appreciation to Bill for all his contributions to Microsoft. As a member of the Board, he challenged us to think big and then think even bigger. He leaves an enduring legacy of curiosity and insight that serves as an inspiration for us all,” said John W. Thompson, Microsoft independent board chair.



Lehtikuva, Markku Ulander/AP Photo; Yuri Gripas/Reuters; Fabrizio Bensch/Reuters; Ruobing Su/Business Insider

With Gates’ departure, the Board now consists of 12 members, including:

  • John W. Thompson, Microsoft independent chair
  • Reid Hoffman, partner at Greylock Partners
  • Hugh Johnston, vice chairman, and chief financial officer of PepsiCo
  • Teri L. List-Stoll, executive vice president and chief financial officer of Gap, Inc.
  • Satya Nadella, chief executive officer of Microsoft
  • Sandra E. Peterson, operating partner, Clayton, Dubilier & Rice
  • Penny Pritzker, founder, and chairman, PSP Partners
  • Charles W. Scharf, chief executive officer and president of Wells Fargo & Co.
  • Arne Sorenson, president, and CEO, Marriott International Inc.
  • John W. Stanton, chairman of Trilogy Equity Partners
  • Emma Walmsley, CEO of GlaxoSmithKline plc (GSK), and
  • Padmasree Warrior, founder, CEO, and president, Fable Group Inc.

Written by How Africa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Kenya Announces 2 New COVID-19 Cases, School Closures, Travel Bans

Coronavirus: Norwegian Embassy in Ghana Closes Down After Staff Tested Positive