in ,

Angolan Election Commission Confirms Victory Of Ruling MPLA Candidate, Joao Lourenco.

Angola’s elections body on September 6 released final results of the August 23 polls. The ruling MPLAwon by 61% picking 150 seats in the 220 seater parliament.

Former Defense Minister, Joao Lourenco, was also declared president-elect. He takes over from long serving Jose Eduardo dos Santos – who served as president for 38 years.

The polls were largely said to have been held smoothly and without incident across the country. The CNE has previously described the vote as one that met international standards.

Six parties took part in the polls all aiming to take over the seat of outgoing President Eduardo dos Santos. The political parties include the ruling MPLA led by Joao Lourenco, main opposition UNITA led by Isaias Samakuva, CASA-CE, FNLAPRSAPN.

Angola votes: The final poll results and parliamentary seat allocation

Angolans go to the polls on August 23 to elect parliamentarians.

But the process will result in knowing the successor to its long serving ruler, Jose Eduardo dos Santos.

The 74-year-old steps down after 38 years in charge.


Written by How Africa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Serena Williams’ Stepmom Says The Tennis Star And Her Dad Want To Evict Her.

Kabila Running DR Congo Like A Family Boutique – Katumbi