in ,

After Watching How Gummy Candies Are Really Made, You’ll Never Eat Them Again

Gummy candies – we all love them, right? Especially the little ones! Our childhood was the time of endless exploration, ignorant bliss, and a never-ending desire to inhale the entire candy store. The good thing is that many people around the world already know the dangers of such treats, both for our waistlines and our longevity. But, every now and then, a childhood treat makes an appearance, and sometimes, we simply can’t resist. But, don’t worry – the video below might solve that problem, if you have it. Just take a look at the article below and find out more about this!

To be honest with you, I really think that if gummy bears, peach rings and gummy worms were among your favorite sweet treats as a kid, and perhaps even now, it may be hard for you to watch how they’re actually made. While you may have come across a vegetarian friend or two who has turned down a fruit snack or cup of jello because such products are made with gelatin, which is a gelling agent created by way of animal skin and bones, the knowledge alone may not be enough to keep you from noshing on the treat yourself.

But, the good thing is that the famous Belgian filmmaker, Alina Kneepkens is here to change that. The famous Belgian filmmaker, Alina Kneepkens created a horrifying short film that shows in intense detail the way in which gummy candies are made. This is how the film goes – she begins the footage in reverse, by showing what we’ve all come to know and love as a finished gummy candy right before we pop it into our mouths and enjoy the sweet sensation of processed sugar going down the hatch. As the footage unrolls, the viewer soon comes to discover the candy’s gory inception. And, you should also know that the film is just one in a series of videos documenting the disgusting way our food is made. Other stomach-churning videos include rabbit with plums, which is a typical Belgian dish, and black pudding. Neither are for the faint of heart, either.


And, don’t forget – there are vegan gelatin substitutes that some candies are made with, like agar, one of the most popular substitutes for gelatin that is obtained from algae. So, if the following video isn’t enough to make you swear off gummy candies, and perhaps food, for good, then you’ll be glad to know you’ve got options. This film will show you that in order to enjoy your sweet treat, pig carcasses must be torched and stripped of their skin, and then boiled down to create the flavorless ingredient. Tendons, ligaments and bones are also utilized to concoct the substance that’s also used in other favorites, like cola bottles and marshmallows.

The famous Belgian filmmaker, Alina Kneepkens said:

“I got the assignment to direct some reversed audiovisual stories showing the production of some of our food. I saw quite a few slaughter houses and examples of both industrial and artisan food productions. A true eye opener. Jelly’ is candy. But only few people know they’re made of gelatin from the skin of pigs. Sweet?”


Written by PH

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

US Presidential Election Debate: Here are the Highlights

Saudi Arabia Cuts Ministers’ Salaries by 20 Percent Due to Recession