in ,

After Uhuru’s Order, Government Shuts Down These 9 Colleges (LIST)

The Government has shut down nine colleges in Nairobi following a nationwide crackdown of unlicensed middle-level institutions of higher learning.

Making the announcement on Wednesday, the Director of Technical, Industrial, Vocational and Entrepreneurship Training Authority (TIVETA), General Kipkurui Langat, stated that the colleges failed to meet standards set by the government while others had not been duly registered.

“It is unfortunate that some unscrupulous business persons have continued to con Kenyans by setting up illegal colleges. We will shut all of them. No person or institution shall offer training in Kenya unless the person or institution has been accredited and licensed,” Langat affirmed.

The affected colleges include:

1. Summit Institute of Professionals.

2. Pinnacle Institute of Accountants


3. Technical Institute

4. Regional Institute of Business Management.

5. Bonjour Institute

6. East African College

7. Intraglobal Training Institute

8. Bell Institute of Technology

9. Cefored

TIVETA is the body mandated to inspect the registration, licensing and accreditation of colleges in Kenya and ensure they comply with the required standards.

The closure comes after President Uhuru Kenyatta announced on Friday that the government would not allow new universities to be established in the country.

The President maintained that the government needed to give more emphasis on improving the quality of existing universities as opposed to their quantity.

“Our focus now must be strengthening the institutions that we have; building their resilience and ensuring sustained quality,” Kenyatta affirmed.


Written by Bello Olusayo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Coca-Cola Intends to Buy ABInBev Share in African Subsidiary

Boxer Tyson Fury Gives Up World Titles To Focus On Medical Treatment