in ,

A Look At The 9 Most Controversial Golden Ball in History

The Ballon d’Or is the highest distinction for a football player. The winners of this coveted consecration are not always unanimous, some observers deem the winner less deserving than other competitors. Afrikmag offers you the 9 most contested gold balloons in history.

9) Lionel Messi (2019)

54 goals and 20 assists in all competitions enabled Lionel Messi to win his sixth Golden Ball on December 2, 2019. For some Virgil Van Dijk, and Sadio Mané were more deserving than the Argentinian.

8) Cristiano Ronaldo (2013)

 Much has been written about Cristiano Ronaldo’s victory over Lionel Messi and Franck ribéry in 2013. Several denying the Portuguese his coronation in favor of the French, who had won the Champions League, the Bundesliga this year, and many others ‘other. Ribéry came out with a frustrating third place.


7) Luis Figo (2000)

With a difference of 16 points, Luis Figo was elected Golden Ball in 2000 in front of an enormous Zinedine Zidane. For Many, Zizou lost because of his expulsion on the red card in the Champions League that year.

6) Luka Modric (2018)

Voted best player in the Russian world after an excellent tournament, specialists in round ball believe that the French Antoine Griezmann (top scorer in the world) and Raphael Varane deserved the title as much.

5) Michael Owen (2001)

The winner could have been Raùl Gonçales, Real Madrid striker. Owen would certainly have made an impression by scoring a hat-trick in a certain Germany-England, even if he won 5 trophies including two Europeans: the Uefa Cup and the European Super Cup).

4) Lionel Messi (2010)

How did the pulga (1 goal in the world, eliminated in the 1/4 final) win this trophy in front of their Catalan teammate, Andres Iniesta, winner of the tournament, and moreover the only scorer in the final? This is the question that some continue to ask themselves.

3) Jean Pierre Papin (1991)

Advertisement 2

Champion of France with the Marseille Olympics, Jean Pierre Papin did not deserve the Golden Ball according to some observers. He is the only player playing in France to win the trophy.

2) Pavel Nedved (2003)

Fantastic player, real control tower, unhappy finalist in the Champions League before AC Milan, Pavel Nedved did not deserve the supreme consecration. For Many, it could have been Thierry Henry (42 goals, 26 assists in 68 games).

1) Fabio Canavaro (2006 )

All saw Gianluigi Buffon, or Thierry Henry, finally Fabio Cannavaro is consecrated, and becomes the most disputed winner of this trophy.


Written by How Africa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

David Beckham: “I Retired Due to Lionel Messi”

Teacher Says ‘Final Goodbyes’ to Her Children from Hospital Bed Via Video Call Before Recovering from Coronavirus