A Complete List Of African Countries And Their Capitals

South Africa has three official capitals. Pretoria is the executive capital, Bloemfontein is the judicial capital, and Cape Town is the legislative capital.

In the 19th century, the relatively unexplored continent of Africa was seen by Europe’s dominant powers as the perfect opportunity to expand their territory in order to utilize the continent’s various unused resources and establish colonial supremacy. This ensued the ‘Scramble for Africa’; as England, France, Portugal, Italy, Germany, Belgium and Spain divided the African continent (except Liberia and Ethiopia) between themselves.

Today, African countries are some of the worst-governed and most impoverished in the world. However, its varied landscapes, wildlife, culture, and traditions have made it one of the most desired travel destinations in the world.

List of African Countries and Their Capitals

Here is the complete list of African countries and their capitals.

Country Capital
Algeria Algiers
Angola Luanda
Benin Porto-Novo
Botswana Gaborone
Burkina Faso Ouagadougou
Burundi Bujumbura
Cameroon Yaounde
Cape Verde Praia
Chad N’Djamena
Côte d’Ivoire Yamoussoukro
Democratic Republic of the Congo Kinshasa
Djibouti Djibouti
Egypt Cairo
Equatorial Guinea Malabo
Eritrea Asmara
Ethiopia Addis Ababa
Gabon  Libreville
Ghana Accra
Guinea Conakry
Guinea-Bissau Bissau
Kenya Nairobi
Lesotho  Maseru
Liberia Monrovia
Libya Tripoli
Madagascar Antananarivo
Malawi Lilongwe
Mali Bamako
Mauritania Nouakchott
Mauritius Port Louis
Morocco Rabat
Mozambique Maputo
Namibia Windhoek
Niger Niamey
Nigeria Abuja
Rwanda Kigali
Tunisia Tunis
São Tomé and Príncipe São Tomé
Senegal Dakar
Seychelles Victoria
Sierra Leone Freetown
Somalia Mogadishu
South Africa Pretoria
South Sudan Juba
Sudan Khartoum
Swaziland Mbabane
Tanzania Dodoma
The Central African Republic Bangui
The Comoros Moroni
The Gambia Banjul
The Republic of the Congo Brazzaville
Togo Lomé
Uganda Kampala
Western Sahara  El-Aaiún
Zambia Lusaka
Zimbabwe Harare

South Sudan’s capital is planned to be moved to Ramciel from Juba in the near future.
Dodoma has been Tanzania’s capital since 1996. Dar es Salaam served as the capital of Tanzania from 1964 (Independence) to 1996.


The Comoros, Cape Verde, Mauritius, São Tomé & Príncipe and Seychelles, although not a part of the main African landmass, are a part of the African subcontinent.
Western Sahara, bordered to the north by Morocco, is an occupied territory with El Aaiún as its official capital. This region, divided into north and south territories by the Moroccan Wall, is a disputed region. The northern regions of the wall (known as Free Zone) are controlled by Polisario, while the southern regions are considered Moroccan territory.

The very thought of the African continent evokes images of sweeping savannas, snarling lions, herds of elephants, rhinoceros, and thousands of other wild beasts. At the same time, African countries have been clogged by political instability, poverty and dismal human rights record in the post-colonisation period. Since the turn of the century, many African nations have taken a positive turn towards democracy, and shown positive economic growth in the information services and telecommunications sector. If the trend continues, Corporate America’s prediction of ‘Africa is the new Asia’ won’t be a far-off shot by any means.


Written by How Africa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Here Are The Countries That Receive The Most Foreign Aid From The US

Trinidad And Tobago’s First Female President Sworn Into Office