in ,

3 African Countries Affected In Trump’s New Travel Ban

United States President, Donald John Trump, has signed a modified travel ban preventing citizens of 6 Muslim-majority countries from entering the United States.

Three African countries are affected by the ban which is expected to start after 10 days. Somalia, Sudan and Libya have made the list again.

An earlier ban which affected 7 countries was suspended by a federal judge, the result of which is the current one.


The 10-day period is believed to be in place to avert some of the chaotic scenes that were seen at US airports after the first ban which was to take immediate effect. The current order has also ‘freed’ Iraq from the ban. Syria, Yemen and Iran complete the latest list.


The Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) last month slammed the earlier order describing it as ‘selective and discriminatory.’ The OIC said it was of the view that the ban will further complicate the grave situation that refugees find themselves.


Written by How Africa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Ghana Flag

African Leaders Converge To Celebrate Ghana’s 60th Independence Day

Quote of the Day -by James Shikwati