in ,

Barcelona Named Club With The Highest Ballon d’Or Winners

Barcelona made history with Lionel Messi winning the 2015Ballon d’Or.

Messi’s win which is his 5th, makes him the 11th Barcelona player to win the award, ahead of any other club.

Lionel Mess shows off his five Ballon d'Or awardsplayLionel Mess shows off his five Ballon d’Or awards (Instagram/Lionel Messi)

Luis Suarez-not the Uruguayan who plays there now- become the first Barcelona player to win the Ballon d’Or in 1960 beforeJohan Cruyff won it two years in a role in 1973 and 1974.

After a 20-year-wait, Bulgarian striker Hristo Stoichkov won it iin1994 before Brazilian Rivaldo claimed it in 1999.

Hristo Stoichkov won the Ballon d'Or in 1994playHristo Stoichkov won the Ballon d’Or in 1994 (

Six years later, his countryman Ronaldinho took the price before Lionel Messi won if for five times in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2015.

Ronaldinho won the Ballon d'Or in 2005playRonaldinho won the Ballon d’Or in 2005 (Getty Images)

The Catalans are now three ahead of their nearest rivals AC Milan, Juventus and Real Madrid whose players have won the Ballon d’Or on eight occasions.


Written by PH

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


25 Indigenous Fruits and Vegetables Promoting Health All Over the World You Should Know About

Adolf Hitler’s Book “Mein Kampf” Sold Out Immediately After Going On Sale In Germany