in ,

17 African Nations Listed On UK ‘Red List’ Countries

FILE PHOTO: A medic examines a patient on the Phelophepa Health train in Springs, Johannesburg, South Africa. (Xinhua/Yeshiel)


The UK has issued new travel measures to visitors from 17 African nations intending to travel to the island. Travelers will need to quarantine for 10 days in government-approved hotels and will have to pay for themselves during their stay. Travelers will foot a bill not less than $100 per night.

The UK had previously banned the entry of passengers from 11 African countries including South Africa in a measure to prevent the spread of the new Covid-19 variant.


The UK had issued a time frame of February 15 to begin restriction on travelers from areas they perceive as red zone.

Breaking the rules could see people charged fines of up to €11,500 – or even face 10 years in prison, according to the UK government.

As with all other travelers, in addition to having a negative test performed 72 hours prior to arrival, these arrivals must also be tested on the second and eighth days of the quarantine.

Travelers have to pre-book on a government website, which has already been reported to have crashed a number of times.

The 17 Africa countries included in the red zone include:

• Angola

• Botswana

• Burundi

• Cape Verde


• Eswatini

• Lesotho

• Malawi

• Mauritius

• Mozambique

• Namibia

• Rwanda

• Seychelles

• South Africa

• Tanzania

• Zambia

• Zimbabwe


Written by PH

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


France’s Role In Rwanda’s 1994 Genocide Back In The Spotlight

The Iconic African-American Actress Cicely Tyson Remembered In Harlem